Lord Mayor’s Cup Winners

The Lord Mayor’s Cup, first held in 1979 as a Listed race over 2,200 metres, was initially won by Pay The Purple. Two years later the distance of the race decreased to 1,200 metres, before increasing to its original distance again in 1984. Between 1986 and 2005 the Lord Mayor’s Cup has varied its distance, ranging between 2,000 metres and 2,050 metres, however since 2006 has been set at 1,615 metres. In 2000, the race elevated from Listed to a Group 3 status event.

Over the years, the Lord Mayor’s Cup has been referred to by many different names; originally the BATC Labour Day Cup. Since then is has also been called the BATC Seven National News Handicap, the BATC Carnival Handicap, the BTC Doomben Carnival Cup, and since 2005 – the BTC Lord Mayor’s Cup.

Lord Mayor’s Cup winners have varied in overall skill across the years, but always win with a fantastic run. Notable Lord Mayor’s Cup winners include legend Gunsynd (1971), inconsistent performer Sky Heights (2001) and Our Cavalier (1976, ’80). Since Cool Gent’s victory at the race’s inaugural run in 1956, Lord Mayor’s Cup winners have maintained a tradition of very respectable victories.

Lord Mayor’s Cup winners since 1970 are listed below.

Lord Mayor’s Cup Winners

Year Winner
2017 TBD
2016 Mighty Lucky
2015 Strawberry Boy
2014 Angel Of Mercy
2013 Solzhenitsyn
2012 Solzhenitsyn
2011 Firebolt
2010 Rothesay
2009 Rampant Lion
2008 Rum Dum
2007 Headturner
2006 Cog Hill
2005 Tickle
2004 This Manshood
2003 Restless
2002 Freemasons
2001 Sky Heights
2000 Integrate
1999 Joss Sticks
1998 Only A Lady
1997 race not held
1996 race not held
1995 Arborea
1994 Tusk Hunter
1993 Coolong Road
1992 Cool Credit
1991 Comrade
1990 Red Chiffon
1989 Bravery
1988 Miss Stephenson
1987 Stars Are Easy
1986 Just Now
1985 Our Compromise
1984 Concord Stage
1983 race not held
1982 Keep Safe
1981 Sovereign Khan
1980 Our Cavalier
1979 Pay The Purple
1978 Miner’s Inn
1977 Rhalif
1976 Our Cavlier
1975 Zasu
1974 El Karpe
1973 All Fashion
1972 Buon Giorno
1971 Gunsynd
1970 Cachondeo